A Year of Church

I love church.  And not just church church.   I love being present in almost any sacred space with other people remembering and expressing our connection to All That Is.  While I’m one of those “spiritual but not religious folks” I do love exploring religions, their symbols and stories. Besides, church is fun.  Even when it feels a little hokey sometimes, I always leave feeling uplifted and optimistic after I’ve been to church.

Also, Church helps build community.  I appreciate the opportunity that faith communities provide for their members to work for positive change in the world.

Over the years I’ve attended or visited about a half dozen churches and spiritual communities here in the Asheville area.  There are many more that I have wanted to attend but just haven’t gotten around to yet.  I decided not to let another year slip away without exploring the rich and diverse collection of faith communities we enjoy here.

I intend to visit at least one spiritual community each week this year (though some weeks I may visit more) and share my impressions here.  If you enjoyed something in particular at your faith community’s services or felt moved by the connection you experienced there, please feel welcome to share in the comments.

My best,

Michelle

Michelle Smith, Certified Life-Cycle Celebrant

About themichellesmith

Community enthusiast from the Blue Ridge Mountains of western NC who thinks globally and acts neighborly. Inter-faith Minister and Certified Life-Cycle Celebrant. Founder and Lead Celebrant, Asheville Celebrant. Willing to work for more peace, more joy and more beautiful places to share stories, food, music and dancing, Unwilling to work for raw survival of our species. Prefers dialogue to debate. Believes fundamentally that Duke's is the only mayonnaise worth eating.
This entry was posted in Church, Community, Interfaith, Intro. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Year of Church

  1. Love it, Michelle. Can’t wait to see what you have to say.

  2. kim rivers says:

    I will be looking forward to your future posts !

  3. prettyrivers says:

    I will be looking forward to your future posts and passing along the link. Very good read. Bravo!

  4. Bruce Mulkey says:

    Great idea, Michelle. I look forward to reading more about your visits to spiritual communities in our community. Shonnie and I attend Jubilee! regularly but want Gracelyn to become acquainted with a wide variety of spiritual practices, so your thoughts on this matter will be very timely for us.

  5. themichellesmith says:

    Hey Y’all,
    Thanks so much for the encouragement!
    I love Jubilee too, Bruce. I think of it as my home church really. I did hope that sharing my impressions from these visits would be of use to others who have been curious about our faith communities in Asheville.

    Kim, I’m so glad you enjoyed the posts so far.
    Laura, you’ve been hearing me talk about this for a while now. Can you believe I finally did it?

    Thanks again, friends!
    Michelle

  6. Jason says:

    Hi Michelle,
    I’d like to give you a mention in a column I’m writing about new blogs in Asheville and I’d like to talk with you. Could you drop me an email with contact information? Thank you! Jason
    ps you can reach me at the newspaper at 232-5851.

Leave a Reply

